“Are you cool with us…?”

smbossTHE BOSS’S MOONLIGHT SECRET — Chapter 29

He did make it. Just barely. Blaise walked Cady down the sidewalk to his car, passing troops of costumed children along the way. The adults were out and about in all kinds of costumes and levels of drunkenness, as well, Some had started to get into the party mode early.

He just wanted to get Cady home and then tug off that tail and… He’d let her keep the ears on. The idea of it rocketed up his horniness.

He opened the car door for her just as a trio of sexy Elvira vampires haunted by. Behind them, a mangy-looking werewolf leaped and sent the vamps fleeing in a fit of giggles.

Blaise felt Cady’s hand tense in his. She didn’t get in the car, but instead stood there staring at the silliness with the most frightened look.

He could smell her salty fear. Damn. He’d made a mistake. She couldn’t handle this. What had he been thinking?

“Oh.” She startled out of the stare. “Uh…right. Your place.” She tugged off the cat ears.

“Cady.” He clasped both her hands gently. “Are you cool with us or not?”

“I, uh…”

“That pause tells me you are not.”

She sighed and tilted onto her toes to kiss him. “We’re taking a big step tonight. I need you to go slow with me.”

“We don’t have to do this.”

“Yes, we do. I’ve already seen you shift. And I admire you.”

“Nothing will happen that you don’t agree to. I promise.”

“You’re such a honorable man,” she whispered. “Do you know I’ve always considered myself the wife you didn’t realize you needed?”

“Uh, I’m not sure what to say to that.”
“I wasn’t implying anything. Just that…” She kissed him softly. “I like taking care of you, and I want this relationship to work.”
“So do I. Love you.”

He kissed her, but realized she hadn’t replied that she loved him. Hell, was he doing the wrong thing with her?

Leave a Reply

